Thiago Borba Onofre Wins 2017 Three Minute Thesis Competition

Release Date: November 15 2017

Pictured L-R: Wilcley Lima, Enrico Barrozo, Ghadeer Dawwas, Thiago Onofre, Ting Dong, Cody Kunka, Julie Bray, Krishna Bhatarrai, Maria Velez-Climent, Christopher Barbey

The fourth annual UF Three Minute Thesis (3MT) competition was held on Thursday, Nov. 9 before a crowd of more than 100 spectators in the Reitz Union Chamber Room. Ten finalists from various colleges were allotted three minutes to tell an educated but non-specialist audience and a panel of judges about their dissertation research. As always, the competitors gave outstanding presentations, and we congratulate each of them for performance.

The UF Graduate School would like to congratulate the 2017 3MT competition winners:

Thiago Borba Onofre, College of Agriculatural and Life Sciences (WINNER)
Ting Dong, College of Engineering (RUNNER-UP)
Enrico Barrozo, College of Medicine (PEOPLE'S CHOICE)

We would also like to congratulate the following students for placing in the final competition:

Wilcley Lima, College of Engineering
Cody Kunka, College Engineering
Julie Bray, College of Medicine
Ghadder Dawwas, College of Pharmacy
Christopher Barbey, College of Agriculatural and Life Sciences
Krishna Bhattarai, College of Agriculatural and Life Sciences
Maria Velez-Climent, College of Agricultural and Life Sciences

If you would like to learn more about the 3MT competition, please visit our webpage here.