Graduate Council

The Dean of the Graduate School serves as Chairperson, and acting as agent of the Graduate Faculty; the Graduate Council assists the Dean in the determination and execution of policy related to graduate study and associated research.

The Graduate Council reviews and approves specializations, concentrations, majors, graduate certificates, minors, degree programs, and academic policy items. The Approval Tracking System is used to transmit requests for requests through each stage of the approval process.

The Graduate Council consists of twelve members of the Graduate Faculty, a graduate student elected by the Graduate Student Council, and the Dean of the Graduate School. Six of the twelve faculty members of the Graduate Council are elected by the Graduate Faculty for overlapping terms of three years.

The Graduate Council meets every 3rd Thursday, at 1:00 p.m., in 110 Grinter Hall. There is an optional meeting in June and no meetings in July and August.

The following links provide more details information about members, deadlines for agenda items, meeting dates and the Approval System.  

University of Florida Fora: Graduate Council.

Contact Information:

Dr. Henry Frierson 
Associate Vice President and Dean 
Chair, Graduate Council
UF Graduate School 
POB 115500 (101 Grinter Hall) 
352 392 6622

Lorna Dishman
Executive Secretary to Associate Vice President and Dean
UF Graduate School
POB 115500 (101 Grinter Hall) 
352 392 7012