Ten Students Awarded at 2018 Graduate Student Research Day

Release Date: April 13 2018

The annual Graduate Student Research Day, a research poster competition organized and run by the Organization for Graduate Student Advancement and Professional Development (OGAP) and supported by The Graduate School, was held on Tuesday, April 3 in the Reitz Union Grand Ballroom. About 200 students presented research from almost every college.

This year's competition featured learning sessions with Dr. Thomasenia Adams, Associate Dean for Research and Faculty Development in the College of Education, and Prof. John Kaplan, professor in the College of Journalism and Communication and Pulitzer Prize-winning photographer, tying into the day's theme of "Effective Communication."

The 2018 competition featured a change in how many students were awarded, increasing the number to 10 students in five categories. The winners of this year's competition were:

Arts and Humanities

  • MinJi Kim, College of Journalism and Communications
  • Amanda Bradshaw, College of Journalism and Communications


  • Michael Chang, College of Engineering
  • Mingshuo Li, College of Engineering

Health and Life Sciences

  • Kyle Dyson, College of Medicine
  • Lukas Kovar, College of Pharmacy

Physical Sciences and Mathematics

  • Frank Moore, College of Design, Construction, and Planning
  • Sourabh Mishra, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Social and Behavioral Sciences

  • Shubam Sharma, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Carly Logan, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

The Graduate School would like to congratulate both the winners on their success and OGAP for a well-run competition. To learn more about Graduate Student Research Day, click here.